The Flying Doctors

The Flying Doctors

May. 15, 1986
Your rating: 0
5 1 vote

Seasons and episodes

3Season 3 Mar. 03, 1988
4Season 4 Sep. 08, 1988




Robert Grubb isDr. Geoff Standish
Dr. Geoff Standish
Lenore Smith isKate Standish
Kate Standish
Nikki Coghill isSr. Jackie Crane
Sr. Jackie Crane
David Reyne isDr. Guy Reid
Dr. Guy Reid
Christopher Stollery isJohnno Johnson
Johnno Johnson
Sarah Chadwick isDr. Rowie Lang
Dr. Rowie Lang


The Flying Doctors is an Australian drama series produced by Crawford Productions that revolved around the everyday lifesaving efforts of the real Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia.

It was initially a 1985 mini-series based in the fictional outback town of Cooper’s Crossing starring Andrew McFarlane as the newly arrived Dr. Tom Callaghan. The success of the mini series led to its return the following year as an on-going series with McFarlane being joined by a new doctor, Chris Randall, played by Liz Burch. McFarlane left during the first season and actor Robert Grubb came in as new doctor Geoff Standish.

The series’ episodes were mostly self-contained but also featured ongoing storylines, such as Dr. Standish’s romance with Sister Kate Wellings. Other major characters included pilot Sam Patterson, mechanic Emma Plimpton, local policeman Sgt. Jack Carruthers and Vic and Nancy Buckley, who ran the local pub/hotel, The Majestic. Andrew McFarlane also later returned to the series, resuming his role as Dr. Callaghan. The popular series ran for nine seasons and was successfully screened internationally.

Original title The Flying Doctors
TMDb Rating 7.2
First air date May. 15, 1986
Last air date Oct. 06, 1992
Average Duration 50 minutes

Similar titles

Thriller (1973)
Joe Pickett
Dancing Queens
Kantaro: The Sweet Tooth Salaryman
With Love
London’s Burning
True Blood
Doc Martin
Earth: Final Conflict
Oh! Master

Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published